Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAlexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>2016-03-24 11:14:53 +0000
committerSasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>2016-03-24 08:40:21 -0400
commit919e67a63aa967566a909f4f6e1c13f8e88cf76e (patch)
tree00934e59e15854aa43dbbebbb58ff0f256224be9
parent882f862db7f3509f055208b2e3e5bd263265a03b (diff)
perf/core: Fix perf_sched_count derailment
[ Upstream commit 927a5570855836e5d5859a80ce7e91e963545e8f ] The error path in perf_event_open() is such that asking for a sampling event on a PMU that doesn't generate interrupts will end up in dropping the perf_sched_count even though it hasn't been incremented for this event yet. Given a sufficient amount of these calls, we'll end up disabling scheduler's jump label even though we'd still have active events in the system, thereby facilitating the arrival of the infernal regions upon us. I'm fixing this by moving account_event() inside perf_event_alloc(). Signed-off-by: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@infradead.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu> Cc: vince@deater.net Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1456917854-29427-1-git-send-email-alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: He Kuang <hekuang@huawei.com> Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>
-rw-r--r--kernel/events/core.c7
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/events/core.c b/kernel/events/core.c
index 0eaf3f0b0974..66e6568a4736 100644
--- a/kernel/events/core.c
+++ b/kernel/events/core.c
@@ -7641,6 +7641,9 @@ perf_event_alloc(struct perf_event_attr *attr, int cpu,
}
}
+ /* symmetric to unaccount_event() in _free_event() */
+ account_event(event);
+
return event;
err_per_task:
@@ -8004,8 +8007,6 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE5(perf_event_open,
}
}
- account_event(event);
-
/*
* Special case software events and allow them to be part of
* any hardware group.
@@ -8270,8 +8271,6 @@ perf_event_create_kernel_counter(struct perf_event_attr *attr, int cpu,
/* Mark owner so we could distinguish it from user events. */
event->owner = EVENT_OWNER_KERNEL;
- account_event(event);
-
ctx = find_get_context(event->pmu, task, event);
if (IS_ERR(ctx)) {
err = PTR_ERR(ctx);