Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNadav Amit <namit@vmware.com>2019-04-25 17:11:30 -0700
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>2019-06-09 09:16:18 +0200
commit94395ad60acac7e0fcf2e88cfe5ed6ee3d606139 (patch)
tree2ac8f7e4d4cc6f2acf7e07709d564c0fc01700f8
parent474ec2dcfbcf268a4124145b5e08847595f67a4c (diff)
x86/kprobes: Set instruction page as executable
[ Upstream commit 7298e24f904224fa79eb8fd7e0fbd78950ccf2db ] Set the page as executable after allocation. This patch is a preparatory patch for a following patch that makes module allocated pages non-executable. While at it, do some small cleanup of what appears to be unnecessary masking. Signed-off-by: Nadav Amit <namit@vmware.com> Signed-off-by: Rick Edgecombe <rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Cc: <deneen.t.dock@intel.com> Cc: <kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com> Cc: <kristen@linux.intel.com> Cc: <linux_dti@icloud.com> Cc: <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190426001143.4983-11-namit@vmware.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/kernel/kprobes/core.c24
1 files changed, 20 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/kprobes/core.c b/arch/x86/kernel/kprobes/core.c
index fed46ddb1eef..06058c44ab57 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/kprobes/core.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/kprobes/core.c
@@ -431,8 +431,20 @@ void *alloc_insn_page(void)
void *page;
page = module_alloc(PAGE_SIZE);
- if (page)
- set_memory_ro((unsigned long)page & PAGE_MASK, 1);
+ if (!page)
+ return NULL;
+
+ /*
+ * First make the page read-only, and only then make it executable to
+ * prevent it from being W+X in between.
+ */
+ set_memory_ro((unsigned long)page, 1);
+
+ /*
+ * TODO: Once additional kernel code protection mechanisms are set, ensure
+ * that the page was not maliciously altered and it is still zeroed.
+ */
+ set_memory_x((unsigned long)page, 1);
return page;
}
@@ -440,8 +452,12 @@ void *alloc_insn_page(void)
/* Recover page to RW mode before releasing it */
void free_insn_page(void *page)
{
- set_memory_nx((unsigned long)page & PAGE_MASK, 1);
- set_memory_rw((unsigned long)page & PAGE_MASK, 1);
+ /*
+ * First make the page non-executable, and only then make it writable to
+ * prevent it from being W+X in between.
+ */
+ set_memory_nx((unsigned long)page, 1);
+ set_memory_rw((unsigned long)page, 1);
module_memfree(page);
}