Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJohannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>2015-02-27 15:52:09 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-02-28 09:57:51 -0800
commitcc87317726f851531ae8422e0c2d3d6e2d7b1955 (patch)
treef691f720779325efc479c177f4caa8a3ce60c705
parent39afb5ee4640b4ed2cdd9e12b2a67cf785cfced8 (diff)
mm: page_alloc: revert inadvertent !__GFP_FS retry behavior change
Historically, !__GFP_FS allocations were not allowed to invoke the OOM killer once reclaim had failed, but nevertheless kept looping in the allocator. Commit 9879de7373fc ("mm: page_alloc: embed OOM killing naturally into allocation slowpath"), which should have been a simple cleanup patch, accidentally changed the behavior to aborting the allocation at that point. This creates problems with filesystem callers (?) that currently rely on the allocator waiting for other tasks to intervene. Revert the behavior as it shouldn't have been changed as part of a cleanup patch. Fixes: 9879de7373fc ("mm: page_alloc: embed OOM killing naturally into allocation slowpath") Signed-off-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Reported-by: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp> Cc: Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu> Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com> Acked-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> [3.19.x] Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--mm/page_alloc.c9
1 files changed, 8 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/mm/page_alloc.c b/mm/page_alloc.c
index a47f0b229a1a..7abfa70cdc1a 100644
--- a/mm/page_alloc.c
+++ b/mm/page_alloc.c
@@ -2353,8 +2353,15 @@ __alloc_pages_may_oom(gfp_t gfp_mask, unsigned int order,
if (ac->high_zoneidx < ZONE_NORMAL)
goto out;
/* The OOM killer does not compensate for light reclaim */
- if (!(gfp_mask & __GFP_FS))
+ if (!(gfp_mask & __GFP_FS)) {
+ /*
+ * XXX: Page reclaim didn't yield anything,
+ * and the OOM killer can't be invoked, but
+ * keep looping as per should_alloc_retry().
+ */
+ *did_some_progress = 1;
goto out;
+ }
/*
* GFP_THISNODE contains __GFP_NORETRY and we never hit this.
* Sanity check for bare calls of __GFP_THISNODE, not real OOM.