Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMasahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>2018-12-05 15:27:19 +0900
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>2018-12-19 19:19:54 +0100
commitd92c66b30f9368e83aa85b30cc921e23ca0b28b4 (patch)
tree644a23238982fc94fdf688382507d3c8e93305af
parent228f6f28d478215120a0ae23cdf4cda83eeddba8 (diff)
x86/build: Fix compiler support check for CONFIG_RETPOLINE
commit 25896d073d8a0403b07e6dec56f58e6c33678207 upstream. It is troublesome to add a diagnostic like this to the Makefile parse stage because the top-level Makefile could be parsed with a stale include/config/auto.conf. Once you are hit by the error about non-retpoline compiler, the compilation still breaks even after disabling CONFIG_RETPOLINE. The easiest fix is to move this check to the "archprepare" like this commit did: 829fe4aa9ac1 ("x86: Allow generating user-space headers without a compiler") Reported-by: Meelis Roos <mroos@linux.ee> Tested-by: Meelis Roos <mroos@linux.ee> Signed-off-by: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com> Acked-by: Zhenzhong Duan <zhenzhong.duan@oracle.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Zhenzhong Duan <zhenzhong.duan@oracle.com> Fixes: 4cd24de3a098 ("x86/retpoline: Make CONFIG_RETPOLINE depend on compiler support") Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1543991239-18476-1-git-send-email-yamada.masahiro@socionext.com Link: https://lkml.org/lkml/2018/12/4/206 Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org> Cc: Gi-Oh Kim <gi-oh.kim@cloud.ionos.com> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/Makefile10
1 files changed, 7 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/Makefile b/arch/x86/Makefile
index 9298f0f3817a..b84f61bc5e7a 100644
--- a/arch/x86/Makefile
+++ b/arch/x86/Makefile
@@ -223,9 +223,6 @@ KBUILD_CFLAGS += -fno-asynchronous-unwind-tables
# Avoid indirect branches in kernel to deal with Spectre
ifdef CONFIG_RETPOLINE
-ifeq ($(RETPOLINE_CFLAGS),)
- $(error You are building kernel with non-retpoline compiler, please update your compiler.)
-endif
KBUILD_CFLAGS += $(RETPOLINE_CFLAGS)
endif
@@ -303,6 +300,13 @@ ifndef CC_HAVE_ASM_GOTO
@echo Compiler lacks asm-goto support.
@exit 1
endif
+ifdef CONFIG_RETPOLINE
+ifeq ($(RETPOLINE_CFLAGS),)
+ @echo "You are building kernel with non-retpoline compiler." >&2
+ @echo "Please update your compiler." >&2
+ @false
+endif
+endif
archclean:
$(Q)rm -rf $(objtree)/arch/i386