Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPrakash Gupta <guptap@codeaurora.org>2017-09-13 16:28:35 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-09-13 18:53:16 -0700
commit5f48f0bd4e368425db4424b9afd1bd251d32367a (patch)
treef1f35525acb8d42430f0a8ad2aca81d97ff71e45
parentbb53c820c5b0f1a52804e32683aa7874db27392d (diff)
mm, page_owner: skip unnecessary stack_trace entries
The page_owner stacktrace always begin as follows: [<ffffff987bfd48f4>] save_stack+0x40/0xc8 [<ffffff987bfd4da8>] __set_page_owner+0x3c/0x6c These two entries do not provide any useful information and limits the available stacktrace depth. The page_owner stacktrace was skipping caller function from stack entries but this was missed with commit f2ca0b557107 ("mm/page_owner: use stackdepot to store stacktrace") Example page_owner entry after the patch: Page allocated via order 0, mask 0x8(ffffff80085fb714) PFN 654411 type Movable Block 639 type CMA Flags 0x0(ffffffbe5c7f12c0) [<ffffff9b64989c14>] post_alloc_hook+0x70/0x80 ... [<ffffff9b651216e8>] msm_comm_try_state+0x5f8/0x14f4 [<ffffff9b6512486c>] msm_vidc_open+0x5e4/0x7d0 [<ffffff9b65113674>] msm_v4l2_open+0xa8/0x224 Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1504078343-28754-2-git-send-email-guptap@codeaurora.org Fixes: f2ca0b557107 ("mm/page_owner: use stackdepot to store stacktrace") Signed-off-by: Prakash Gupta <guptap@codeaurora.org> Acked-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--mm/page_owner.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/mm/page_owner.c b/mm/page_owner.c
index 8e2d7137510c..57abca62d4db 100644
--- a/mm/page_owner.c
+++ b/mm/page_owner.c
@@ -142,7 +142,7 @@ static noinline depot_stack_handle_t save_stack(gfp_t flags)
.nr_entries = 0,
.entries = entries,
.max_entries = PAGE_OWNER_STACK_DEPTH,
- .skip = 0
+ .skip = 2
};
depot_stack_handle_t handle;