Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>2018-04-20 14:08:58 +0200
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>2018-05-16 10:12:36 +0200
commit4a361fa40b39fc93bf832ffad34351c62fe8d834 (patch)
tree91e4840f861e0a8e02f383e4a5924e2a1cd37a91
parent953a486c108600f9178a5df79be519db2de335f5 (diff)
perf/x86: Fix possible Spectre-v1 indexing for x86_pmu::event_map()
commit 46b1b577229a091b137831becaa0fae8690ee15a upstream. > arch/x86/events/intel/cstate.c:307 cstate_pmu_event_init() warn: potential spectre issue 'pkg_msr' (local cap) > arch/x86/events/intel/core.c:337 intel_pmu_event_map() warn: potential spectre issue 'intel_perfmon_event_map' > arch/x86/events/intel/knc.c:122 knc_pmu_event_map() warn: potential spectre issue 'knc_perfmon_event_map' > arch/x86/events/intel/p4.c:722 p4_pmu_event_map() warn: potential spectre issue 'p4_general_events' > arch/x86/events/intel/p6.c:116 p6_pmu_event_map() warn: potential spectre issue 'p6_perfmon_event_map' > arch/x86/events/amd/core.c:132 amd_pmu_event_map() warn: potential spectre issue 'amd_perfmon_event_map' Userspace controls @attr, sanitize @attr->config before passing it on to x86_pmu::event_map(). Reported-by: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: <stable@kernel.org> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/events/core.c3
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/events/core.c b/arch/x86/events/core.c
index d9394796b6c1..06086439b7bd 100644
--- a/arch/x86/events/core.c
+++ b/arch/x86/events/core.c
@@ -27,6 +27,7 @@
#include <linux/cpu.h>
#include <linux/bitops.h>
#include <linux/device.h>
+#include <linux/nospec.h>
#include <asm/apic.h>
#include <asm/stacktrace.h>
@@ -424,6 +425,8 @@ int x86_setup_perfctr(struct perf_event *event)
if (attr->config >= x86_pmu.max_events)
return -EINVAL;
+ attr->config = array_index_nospec((unsigned long)attr->config, x86_pmu.max_events);
+
/*
* The generic map:
*/