Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>2017-12-14 15:32:41 -0800
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>2018-07-28 07:49:14 +0200
commitb9dd13488acb680c5f141f5c077880317c9749cf (patch)
tree6d67e19302aeacb6fcdbc1630cc191caabd2dec9
parentb1a1d9bdb1b5123924956f069920bf4b9c4b11c4 (diff)
exec: avoid gcc-8 warning for get_task_comm
commit 3756f6401c302617c5e091081ca4d26ab604bec5 upstream. gcc-8 warns about using strncpy() with the source size as the limit: fs/exec.c:1223:32: error: argument to 'sizeof' in 'strncpy' call is the same expression as the source; did you mean to use the size of the destination? [-Werror=sizeof-pointer-memaccess] This is indeed slightly suspicious, as it protects us from source arguments without NUL-termination, but does not guarantee that the destination is terminated. This keeps the strncpy() to ensure we have properly padded target buffer, but ensures that we use the correct length, by passing the actual length of the destination buffer as well as adding a build-time check to ensure it is exactly TASK_COMM_LEN. There are only 23 callsites which I all reviewed to ensure this is currently the case. We could get away with doing only the check or passing the right length, but it doesn't hurt to do both. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171205151724.1764896-1-arnd@arndb.de Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Suggested-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Acked-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Serge Hallyn <serge@hallyn.com> Cc: James Morris <james.l.morris@oracle.com> Cc: Aleksa Sarai <asarai@suse.de> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
-rw-r--r--fs/exec.c7
-rw-r--r--include/linux/sched.h6
2 files changed, 8 insertions, 5 deletions
diff --git a/fs/exec.c b/fs/exec.c
index b8c43be24751..fcd8642ef2d2 100644
--- a/fs/exec.c
+++ b/fs/exec.c
@@ -1228,15 +1228,14 @@ killed:
return -EAGAIN;
}
-char *get_task_comm(char *buf, struct task_struct *tsk)
+char *__get_task_comm(char *buf, size_t buf_size, struct task_struct *tsk)
{
- /* buf must be at least sizeof(tsk->comm) in size */
task_lock(tsk);
- strncpy(buf, tsk->comm, sizeof(tsk->comm));
+ strncpy(buf, tsk->comm, buf_size);
task_unlock(tsk);
return buf;
}
-EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(get_task_comm);
+EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(__get_task_comm);
/*
* These functions flushes out all traces of the currently running executable
diff --git a/include/linux/sched.h b/include/linux/sched.h
index 5ebef8c86c26..1cc5723a7821 100644
--- a/include/linux/sched.h
+++ b/include/linux/sched.h
@@ -2999,7 +2999,11 @@ static inline void set_task_comm(struct task_struct *tsk, const char *from)
{
__set_task_comm(tsk, from, false);
}
-extern char *get_task_comm(char *to, struct task_struct *tsk);
+extern char *__get_task_comm(char *to, size_t len, struct task_struct *tsk);
+#define get_task_comm(buf, tsk) ({ \
+ BUILD_BUG_ON(sizeof(buf) != TASK_COMM_LEN); \
+ __get_task_comm(buf, sizeof(buf), tsk); \
+})
#ifdef CONFIG_SMP
void scheduler_ipi(void);