Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMark-PK Tsai <mark-pk.tsai@mediatek.com>2019-09-06 14:01:16 +0800
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2019-09-06 08:24:01 +0200
commit310aa0a25b338b3100c94880c9a69bec8ce8c3ae (patch)
tree8914f769fdcf64d0c2f343ad79c40ebeac29fbae
parent0f4cd769c410e2285a4e9873a684d90423f03090 (diff)
perf/hw_breakpoint: Fix arch_hw_breakpoint use-before-initialization
If we disable the compiler's auto-initialization feature, if -fplugin-arg-structleak_plugin-byref or -ftrivial-auto-var-init=pattern are disabled, arch_hw_breakpoint may be used before initialization after: 9a4903dde2c86 ("perf/hw_breakpoint: Split attribute parse and commit") On our ARM platform, the struct step_ctrl in arch_hw_breakpoint, which used to be zero-initialized by kzalloc(), may be used in arch_install_hw_breakpoint() without initialization. Signed-off-by: Mark-PK Tsai <mark-pk.tsai@mediatek.com> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Alix Wu <alix.wu@mediatek.com> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: YJ Chiang <yj.chiang@mediatek.com> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190906060115.9460-1-mark-pk.tsai@mediatek.com [ Minor edits. ] Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c4
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c b/kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c
index c5cd852fe86b..3cc8416ec844 100644
--- a/kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c
+++ b/kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c
@@ -413,7 +413,7 @@ static int hw_breakpoint_parse(struct perf_event *bp,
int register_perf_hw_breakpoint(struct perf_event *bp)
{
- struct arch_hw_breakpoint hw;
+ struct arch_hw_breakpoint hw = { };
int err;
err = reserve_bp_slot(bp);
@@ -461,7 +461,7 @@ int
modify_user_hw_breakpoint_check(struct perf_event *bp, struct perf_event_attr *attr,
bool check)
{
- struct arch_hw_breakpoint hw;
+ struct arch_hw_breakpoint hw = { };
int err;
err = hw_breakpoint_parse(bp, attr, &hw);